Music albums by Indian Ocean
Indian Ocean Albums

Indian Ocean are an Indian rock band formed in New Delhi in 1990. They are considered to be the pioneers of fusion rock genre in India. Susmit Sen, Asheem Chakravarty, Rahul Ram and Amit Kilam formed the most stable and successful line-up in the band's timeline. This line-up lasted till Asheem's death in 2010. It left a void for which the band has so far not made any official replacement. This leaves Sushmit as the only original member in the band. Sushmit and Rahul are the only members who have appeared on the band's debut album Indian Ocean.
The musical style of the band can be at best classified as fusion music. Some music critics describe the band's music as "Indo-rock fusion with jazz-spiced rhythms that integrates shlokas, sufism, environmentalism, mythology and revolution".
Recently, the band has moved against the lines of record labels. They released their latest album 16/330 Khajoor Road online for free. The main reason for this move was the frustration over negotiating contracts with record companies and fighting over copyright issues. They have turned to concerts and sponsorships for generating revenue rather than playing in the hands of record labels. For a brief amount of time they had the sponsorship of Johnnie Walker.

Origin: Delhi, India
Genres: Fusion, Indian, Rock, Folk
Years active: 1990-present

Band Members

  • Susmit Sen

  • Amit Kilam

  • Rahul Ram

  • Past band members of Indian Ocean

    • Asheem Chakravarty

    • Shaleen Sharma

    • Indrajit Dutta

    • Anirban Roy